Solent Boat Training Client Reviews

 
Add Review
First pagePrevious page23456789101112Next pageLast page

Day skipper training course
2 comp crew and 2 day skippers spent 5 days with Georgie and had a great time, learning and practising. The instruction was clear and repeated if necessary with patience and Georgie was ready to step in to avoid any calamities until we were all able to go home with our certificates and the confidence and competence to continue our interest in sailing . Thank you Georgie and SBT
01/08/2019 08:35:58
 
 
A boat charter & training company that is in it for more than just money
One can only be impressed that Solent Boat Charter and Training offer a free VHF course with any other. This is a case of Solent Charter leading the way for the RYA who should include VHF within the Day Skipper course as standard. Thank you Solent Charter. NH
25/07/2019 13:54:08
 
 
Power Boat Level 2
My son and I completed the PB 2 course this week. I don’t normally complete reviews but I wanted to this time. Everything was exceptional. Louis, the lad who taught us, was brilliant. My son and I are still buzzing from the 2 days and we’re both now qualified. Great job. Thanks, Stuart & David.
25/07/2019 13:53:03
 
 
Wonderful learning experience
Did my Day Skipper Practical with Howard, who is a very thorough and dedicated instructor. He made sure we had plenty of opportunities to get hands-on and comfortable with details and manoeuvers that could safeguard one's journey on the sea. As I had relatively little sailing experience, this has been a marvellous learning journey working with the other skipper and comp crews. Would highly recommend it.
18/07/2019 13:55:22
 
 
Competent Crew with Day Skipper (5 day) - Excellent!
Just completed my Competent Crew with one other (a friend) and 2 Day Skippers. This worked really well and afforded us all plenty of ‘front line’ action. Despite our widely varying experience, under the expert guidance of our instructor Howard, who was excellent, we soon gelled into a cohesive crew. The course was delivered with patience and good humour, and at a steady pace over the 5 days, with the emphasis on hands-on learning. We were all given ample opportunities to practise the various techniques and procedures, and informal quizzes made the fact-based elements more engaging. Our Bavaria 37 was clean, well appointed and equipped, and the social aspect added to a thoroughly enjoyable week. Many thanks SBT and especially Howard.
15/07/2019 13:56:40
 
 
Day Skipper Practical, 2 day Mile Builder, Marina Skills, VHF - Excellent.
Very good training. The instructors were all very good and got me up to speed. Started with only competent crew and little additional Sailing experience. Boats are also in good conditions. Overall would definitely recommend and will use them in the future, possibly for RYA Coastal Skipper. Thanks
12/07/2019 14:01:51
 
 
PB2 course for teenagers and Coastal Skipper for Dad
Great instructors, good boats and a location that affords easy access and a good launch point for all courses.
12/07/2019 14:00:33
 
 
Great bareboat charter and excellent instructors on- and offshore
I charter regularly from Solent Boat Charters and did a few RYA training courses with them. The yachts are great, and I really enjoyed the courses (coastal skipper practical, VHF, and Diesel).
12/07/2019 13:59:04
 
 
Best instructors
Really nice professional instructors, highly recommend! Will be back to complete my next qualifications
12/07/2019 13:58:06
 
 
Competent Crew & VHF exam
Excellent week's training, along with another Competent Crew and 2 Day Skippers, and instructor Tom. The course exceeded my expectations, and Tom's knowledge and patience where outstanding. I'm already making plans to return to do my Day Skipper practical next year.
11/07/2019 15:55:03
 
 
Great course by very competent company
Just back from doing the RYA Level 2 Powerboat course. SBT's instructor Sam took three of us through the course, very patiently and thoroughly explaining everything we needed to know in order to gain the certification. Good mix of theory and practical boatwork with safety a key aspect of the course. Overnight accommodation aboard SBT's Inspiration Bavaria 49 yacht was good, too. If you want to do any courses associated with yachting or power boating I'd say this is the place that should be very high on your list.
04/07/2019 16:04:56
 
 
Level 2 Powerboat
Attended a 2 day weekend Level 2 powerboat course to learn the 'ropes' - or should I say lines?! Very informative, learnt a lot in 2 days and still much more to learn. Dom, our instructor, was very knowledgeable and had an enthusiastic and patient approach to instructing, just what you need when trying something new.
01/07/2019 16:07:00
 
 
Absolutely excellent in every way
I’ve had the pleasure of training with SBT on two occasions now, RYA PB2 and the IoW Round the Island Race. Really impressed with the quality of the vessels and the knowledge and demeanour of the staff here, this is a shining example of how marine training should be! Many thanks to Tom, Steph and Rob and also to Matt for running a tight ship (pun intended)
30/06/2019 16:12:29
 
 
Very enjoyable and very useful Powerboat 2 course with loads of time on the water
We wanted to hire a rib boat whilst on holiday in Croatia and were recommended the Powerboat 2 course. It is a really good course with a good mix of theory and practical on the open water. The instruction by Peter was excellent and although we were apprehensive the calm but knowledgable way he taught us with a good sense of humour made the course very enjoyable. We are now confident to be able to manage the hire boat safely on holiday . Thanks
30/06/2019 16:08:48
 
 
Day skipper training
Just completed day skipper training with Tom on the theory course and Noel on the practical, both very professional instructors. Accommodation, food and refreshments were great throughout. Would highly recommend this well organised company. Looking forward to booking some cross channel and coastal mile builders.
29/06/2019 12:52:55
 
 
Great experience
Highly recommended for those wishing to learn sailing with excellent instructors and great facilities
27/06/2019 16:15:47
 
 
RYA Day Skipper Practical
After 6 months of theory done at night classes near home I travelled to Solent Boat Training for a 5 day practical course. This consolidated the theory which made much more sense than it did in the class room. I feel I have learnt so much and had so much fun. Mike, our instructor/ assessor, was very good and looked after us so well
26/06/2019 16:17:17
 
 
Great Introduction to Sailing
Spent a week doing a Competent Crew course with SBT. Unfortunately I've had to cut back on my plans for sailing so won't be following it up in the near future. However - I would highly recommend SBT for a thoroughly professional and enjoyable experience.(Thanks Debs)
25/06/2019 16:18:45
 
 
The perfect introduction to sailing
I completed my Competent Crew course under the instructor Noel and I couldn't have asked for better. From the excellent crew we had, the locations, weather, and experience, I could envisage no better instruction to sailing and no better instructor.
24/06/2019 16:20:10
 
 
Excellent Day Skipper & VHF Course!
Just finished (and passed!) the RYA Day Skipper Theory and SRC VHF Courses with SBT. Both courses were well run with a great teaching style and approach to covering the required learning. Have already booked the practical and looking forward to doing that in September. Very well priced courses, sailing experiences and chartering options.
15/06/2019 12:49:29
 
 


First pagePrevious page23456789101112Next pageLast page