Solent Boat Training Client Reviews

 
Add Review
First pagePrevious page23456789101112Next pageLast page

RYA, SRC Marine Radio VHF
VHF radio training which was free! (What's not to like) followed by exam. Excellent instruction from Sean (Thank you). A well paced course, full of essential content to prepare for the end of day Short Range Radio Certificate Exam. Many thanks Sean, you have a completely natural, witty and informative style of teaching that lends itself brilliantly to compliment this classroom environment. And to Matt too. Thank you. You completely put us at ease for the formal exam to finish the day. Much appreciated.
11/01/2020 12:13:16
 
 
Cowes Week Yacht Racing
I just received an email from SBC about this years Cowes Week racing so immedialtely went to book becuase i know it sells out fast. I saw the bad review below and felt that I had to write about my expereince last year. I booked the Thursday and Friday last year. The boat trip over from Southampon on the Thursday morning was amazing and worth doing on it`s own. The day started with coffee and safety talk by Debie our skipper. Then we spent the whole morning sailing getting ready for the race start. Again the race was amazing, Debie was amazing, what an expereince. That night I stayed on boat in Cowes ready for day 2 but the weather was getting worse. Several new crew joined the boat on the Friday morning with the weather getting worse and worse. The race start was delayed several times, but we kept sailing. Eventually over the radio we heard the race was cancelled due to safety so we headed back to Cowes. We sailed nearly all day and Debs even went off and got 2 bottle of Proseco ( sorry to the other review must have driunk theres because i got half a bottle ). Still an amazing day. I think i have worked out who the other reviewer was, lets just say that 10 bagettes won`t have filled him up.
11/01/2020 12:09:46
 
 
Complete & utter rip-ff
This company load the boat with fare paying passngers for effectively a 'day's racing' during Cowes week including lunch. On my day, the afternoon sail was cancelled and for lunch we had a soggy bagette and half a glass of prosecco! In my book hardly worth £50 let alone the £200 I paid. Furthermore, I did not receive any follow-up email nor any offer of recompence for the lost sailing. I wouldn't sail with this company if they had the last boat in the Solent!
10/01/2020 14:29:28
 
 
Excellent weekend training
Spent the weekend with my 21 year old son doing the power boat 2 course. Have an excellent time training, really good fun despite the weather and great level of education. Stayed on the boat (free accommodation) which was fun too. Bryan the instructor asked us what we wanted to achieve and right down to the last minute ensured we had all got from the course what we wanted. Can rate this course and the company who provide it highly enough.
25/11/2019 12:21:33
 
 
Marine Skills
Very good course with a good instructor and good area to practise, but could be longer! One day is "ain't long enough". So will be going back for more.
19/11/2019 12:30:25
 
 
Diesel maintenance course, extremely well run would recommend to anyone who Sails regularly
Having recently bought an elderly yacht complete with elderly inboard Diesel engine I soon became aware how dependent I was on the motor functioning straight away when needed. Even though I sail in the solent and have sea start rescue i really wanted to be more confident in understanding how a Diesel engine works, how to look after it how to do simple maintainace and importantly how to diagnoses and fix problems in an emergency. This course didn’t disappoint. It is a one day course delivered to a small group of similar minded sailors. There are four engines to work on and there was ample opportunities for everyone to do practical procedures such as replacing filters and impellers and bleeding air. This is combined with a well structured theory talk delivered in small bite size blocks with plenty of breaks to ensure it never got tiring. I have to say it was me of the best RYA courses I have attended. It more than met my expectations and I came away more confident that I would be able to manage any problems that might occur whilst afloat. As such I would recommend this course to anyone who is likely to sail or motor cruise. I would certainly sign up to other courses they run as it is clear this is a well organised and run training company with user experience and safety at their forefront.
19/11/2019 12:26:02
 
 
It was a very well organized week with excellent qualified instructor.Learnt a lot really!
I went there to participate on a day skipper practical course. If you look for a place to gain experience being out at sea just like i was, solent boat training and the busy waters in that area will provide that to you. You learn from people with a solid boating background, and not to forget, with whom sailing with is also quite fun... all in all a very good deal! Thanks to the team of Solentboattraining!
19/11/2019 12:23:47
 
 
Great weeks training with SBT
Just completed a great Competent Crew training course with SBT in the Solent. The 37 ft Bavaria yacht ‘Gemini’ we used for the course was well maintained and equipped and was comfortable for the 3 students and 1 instructor on board, however I’m not so sure life would have been quite as comfortable with the fourth student who cancelled on the day, also on board. The crew was made up of 1 Day Skipper student and 2 Competent crew students with the course focusing on the training and assessment of the day skipper, the training for the competent crew was achieved through crewing the boat in support of the day skipper tasks. This set up allowed both sets of students to 'learn' at the appropriate level. The training/assessment was carried out by Debs Hurst who was excellent throughout, her delivery of the training through a mix of professional knowledge, wit, sarcasm and a genuine love of sailing, was for me, one of the highlights of the course. The food provided on board was basic but always hot and very welcome after a morning on the water, however if you don’t like pasta I would certainly think about bringing your own alternatives. Would I use SBT again, yes definitely and I would certainly request Debs as my Instructor for any future course
18/11/2019 14:31:49
 
 
Day skipper -- practical
Excellent 5-day practical course spanning over two weekends! We had two different instructors (Sam & Tom), which was of additional benefit, as each one had a slightly different angle of doing stuff. However, both were equally fantastic at explaining and teaching. But be warned: you are expected to have a good working knowledge of the day skipper theory, it doesn't need to be perfect, but this course is VERY hands-on and there's not much time for filling in large gaps of missing theory. The boat itself (Gemini) is a well maintained sailing yacht that offers enough comfort and space to live and sail on for the duration of the course. However, if you pull the short straw and have to sleep in the saloon (as I did), you might consider bringing ear plugs and eye shades, if you suffer from light sleep... =). Food (breakfast & lunch) is basic, but perfectly adequate for the kind of physical activity. Nevertheless, if you are not a fan of pasta/starchy food, maybe you should think about taking your own. Evenings were spent in various marinas -- all very nice with a whole variety of different pubs/restaurants. I really liked the fact that two day skippers and two competent crew were doing the course together, as this a) gives the day skippers a lot of time for practice and b) gives the competent crew a lot of additional information on the side and for free. All in all very recommended!
18/11/2019 12:33:11
 
 
First Aid at Sea and Power Boat 2
Absolutely brilliant on both courses.I’ve been doing various courses for a few years with different schools in the Solent, including Yacht-master and Coastal Skipper, but this was a cut above the rest. The First Aid was the best I’ve ever done and the instructor was informative and entertaining. I would definitely recommend a totally professional outfit. If I could give a sixth star for the review, I would.
17/11/2019 15:26:41
 
 
Competent Crew
Attended an excellent Competent Crew course 4-8 November. The course kicked off with our instructor, the legendary skipper Noel, taking some time getting to know us and our level of experience, which helped him adapt the course throughout the week to make sure we were being kept challenged and having a fun time sailing, in addition to covering the relevant parts of the syllabus. Noel and SBT really went the extra mile to ensure we were having a great time throughout the week, both at sea and ashore in the evenings, and helped us build confidence and skill throughout the course. Would very much recommend doing your sailing course with these guys and I will definitely come back for my Day Skipper.
17/11/2019 14:35:42
 
 
Great course and brilliant instructor
Had a brilliant time on the course, Dom was encouraging and really brought the best out of the group. There was a relaxed atmosphere as well as covering serious topics which made the experience very memorable. The Marina accommodation was fantastic and amazing value. If I do any more powerboat courses I’ll definitely be back. Thanks
17/11/2019 14:33:31
 
 
Build your confidence with the Coastal Skipper course
Just completed the Coastal Skipper course with SBT and a great crew, this is an amazing course to build your confidence and ability to sail. I would like to thank our instructor Noel an amazing guy with exceptional knowledge and leadership skills, even in very rough seas morale and confidence remained at the highest level. SBT is a brilliant organisation with a great team behind it and I can’t recommend a better centre. I wish Dominic all the very best in becoming a Yacht Master Instructor himself, he will be an incredible asset to any training centre.
16/11/2019 15:32:43
 
 
Excellent Day Skipper Course!
Great week, great course. Learning was never so much fun. Skipper Noel was a true legend, very patient, great teacher and made everyone on the boat feel comfortable and involved. The boat itself was first class and sailed very well. I'll definitely go back and do my Coastal Skipper next.
08/11/2019 15:43:02
 
 
Powerboat Level 2 Powerboat Handling and RYA VHF course
I participated in the 2 day Powerboat Level 2 training on 26 and 27 Oct 2019. I found the course was very comprehensive and the instructor, Chris, very thorough. His approach was firstly to ask what the students expected from the course and what they considered as important in the various aspects of the course. This was written on a board and these points were then discussed in detail.Any missing important aspects then added. This created a good instructor - student rapport rather than the "I will lecture to you" approach. The classroom training was then followed up with practical training on board, on the water. The course included an introduction to boating in the worst weather that the UK could offer, at no additional charge! Fortunately the next day was sunny. Well done SBT, highly recommended.
30/10/2019 15:51:52
 
 
Fun and great training
I've attended a couple of courses at SBT, both have been excellent. In the summer I did the level 2 power boating course with Chris. Lucky with the weather, we had a great couple of days. Chris has extensive experience with RIBs and was a great instructor, very patient! There were only three of us and by the end we were all competent at maneuvering, parking up and motoring at speed. Then over the past two weekends, I have been studying Day Skipper theory. Our instructor Matt made the course fun, backing up what we were learning with related experiences he had encountered over the years. There were seven of us and we all got individual attention when stuck, which then got shared around the group. I am so glad I attended a course, there is a lot too learn and both the teaching and sharing of information around the group was invaluable. It's not a course that I would want to do online, I would learn so much less that way. And it would be less fun. I wouldn't hesitate to do other course here (in fact my VHF radio course is already booked) and I will be scrutinising the calendar for other upcoming courses. The facilities are good and they put you up for the night on a yacht if doing consecutive days; I also think the prices they charge for their courses are very good value. On a final point, the over-riding impression I have had over the two courses is a bunch of very knowledgeable and friendly instructors, which puts you at ease. I can imagine it's quite a fun and happy environment to work in.
28/10/2019 15:59:10
 
 
excellent sailing navigation course & also great fun power boat course
I've done two courses here.... First course was a 2 days powerboat course which was both informative and also very practical with good amount of time spent out on the water (we were very lucky with the sunny weather). I found the teaching to be relaxed but very well delivered to keep you engaged and focused on the priority areas. I then decided to do my day skipper navigation theory also with solent boat training - again the standard of teaching was very high.... covering all the areas but in bit size pieces and also communicating the safest, fastest and best ways from their experience to use charts, plan passages and general sea skills. Would recommend beyond an online course for 3 main reasons: - you'll actually really do it (5 days and most people are done) - it's more fun doing with others & you learn form their questions & mistakes - you get the practical view of what is a priority & can ask lots of other questions to the instructor or get personalised help on any sticking points highly enjoyed the course & the school. Excellent and experienced teachers. Cheap/free accommodation on a boat right next to the school (do look and book this... I thought was automtially included the first time & found was fully booked). Also get free voucher for the VHF course which I'll take up. For me, the variety and quality of courses for their price is very good value
27/10/2019 16:13:38
 
 
There's Always Something to Learn!
I've been sailing on and off for 55 years and found that I still had a lot to learn. The RYA Day Skipper is a great course and really got into the nitty gritty. I shared the yacht with another Day Skipper recruit and 2 Competent Crew novices. It was good combination which worked into a well oiled efficient machine by the end of the week. Noel, our instructor was superb. He identified our issues, worked them through and made sure we had it fixed. We all met up in the office and enjoyed a cuppa before setting of with some useful water tight skins. I say useful, because we endure some solid rain through the week and not a drop of water passed through. We were billeted on a 38' Bavaria which was well suited to our needs. They are a comfortable practical yacht. I've been sailing on Bavaria's fr the last 18 years in the Mediterranean and they do their job. well. An ideal yacht for training. The first day we were soon into the sailing with the the yacht cranked over at 45°. A great start for the novices and also for the me, as I was a bit rusty not having sailed for a couple of years. I was soon down below brewing up at what seemed an impossible angle, I only split my tea!!!! We sailed up and down the Solent all week, practising what was necessary until we got it right. Using the tidal stream and wind to your own advantage cannot be taught online, you have to be there. Having not been in a tidal stream for over 20 years really got me working and thinking. Most of the stuff we did the novices got a crack at as well. We had lunch on-board each day and enjoyed some really quaint pubs for evening meals on the Isle of Wight. It was a good way to end the day. All the facilities we used on shore, showers and toilets were top. If you want a really good week, where you can learn some important boating skills while actually on holiday, I can highly recommend Solent Boat. I thoroughly enjoyed myself and will return in the future to further my skills.
26/10/2019 16:18:12
 
 
Day skipper theory
I attended this as I want to charter in the Med. Having sailed for years and having already passing my Day skipper 29 years ago I talked to SBT and asked if they thought I could go straight into the Dayskipper practical. The reply, no, as you need during the practical to be able to respond when asked a question so I attended in case I'd forgotten something. Well I had! I'd used electronics for years and felt very confident up and down the coast and cross channel but didn't realise I didn't fully know how much I'd forgotten around the theory.(you don't know what you don't know) So it was a great refresher. The instructor was excellent at explaining things as well as recollecting her experiences throughout her sailing career. So I'd recommend it.
26/10/2019 13:09:21
 
 
Coastal Skipper Course
Excellent Coastal Skipper course with SBT last week. Tom is a first class trainer and people person explaining not only the how but also the why. 12 knots through Hurst with the kite up, real fog for a blind pilotage, excellent food and company, does it get any better
26/10/2019 13:07:20
 
 


First pagePrevious page23456789101112Next pageLast page