Solent Boat Training Client Reviews

 

Please complete the form below to leave your review

 
 
5 day milebuilder
Shamrock Quay

This was really useful experience and great fun as well. SBT is very professional and well organised, and Leo is an excellent instructor.
16/07/2024
RYA POWERBOAT LEVEL 2
Shamrock Quay

Josh did a fantastic job - we had an interactive, educational, and importantly fun 2 days in the classroom and on the water. Equipment provided by SBT ensured that despite the Great British Summer only the outside of our clothing got soaked.
08/07/2024
VHF Radio
Shamrock quay

I’ve Done a few courses with Solent boat training now,all the courses have been excellent and informative and all the instructors have been very well informed and excellent at teaching Wether it be theory or practical Bryan,Dom and Sean are all very good.
08/07/2024
Mike builder
Southampton

A great weekend , just what I needed to refresh on my sailing skills. Thank you to Debbie for your patience and knowledge.
02/07/2024
First Aid
Cheltenham

Attended the First Aid course with SBT that provides a comprehensive course for anybody wishing to become a certified first aider either on land or sea. This course is a one day course that covers a lot of ground, but you leave feeling confident of dealing with a first aid incident competently once completed. Sean our instructor, kept our engagement and was thoroughly enthusiastic throughout the day. I would highly recommend the course especially for those on boats or on the water.
01/07/2024
Competent Crew
Soton

I really enjoyed this CC course with Mike and learned a lot, lot more than the minimum. I'm booking up for Day Skip now.
24/06/2024
Power Boat Level 2
Southampton

Excellent training by Leo who took me through the 2-day course in a well managed and paced way. I am new to boating and I took away far more than I had anticipated. The confidence gained was well received and I am looking forward to putting the training to good effect on the water. Thanks Leo and Solent Boat Training. Gary
23/06/2024
PB2
Southampton

Brilliant course. Bryan was wonderful, calm, and a great teacher. Would highly recommend and I want to come back and do more!
20/06/2024
Powerboat Level 2
Shamrock Quay

Excellent course, very enjoyable and informative. Bryan the instructor was very knowledgeable and patient and made the course fun and inclusive. I would recommend to all.
18/06/2024
Power Boat 2
Southampton

This was my first real experience on the water and I was excited but apprehensive. My instructor, Patrick, immediately put me at ease and was a very likeable and approachable Guy. His knowledge and instruction was great, providing me with confidence to complete the course successfully. I would definitely recommend both Patrick and SBT and will be returning soon for further courses.
17/06/2024
Power boat level 2
Shamrock Quay

5 Star course, excellent and knowledgeable instructor, allowing lots of practical time on the water no matter whatever the weather conditions, plus it was great fun.
17/06/2024
Powerboat level 2
Southampton

As a new boater I was very nervous attending the course. The nerves soon evaporated as I was put at ease and my expectations were managed. Bryan our instructor took the course at a perfect pace and if at anytime things did not go as planned gave positive and constructive feedback. I will certainly be booking more courses
15/06/2024
Powerboat Instructor Certificate
Southampton

I enlisted for the powerboat instructor course at SBT because it was both easy for me to get to and frankly, they offered one of the more competitively priced options about especially when considering the £50 voucher towards the VHF course. I really couldn't recommend SBT highly enough, the course itself was very well run by our excellent instructor, Chris, in very nicely maintained classrooms with plenty of teaching aids. The boats themselves are top-notch, very well maintained with a whole range of gear onboard.
13/06/2024
RYA Level 2 Powerboat Course
Southampton

Myself and my 13 year old son completed the RYA Level 2 Powerboat course in April '24. The facilities were great, easy to find. Booking on tot he course was simple and straightforward. The rib used was in great condition ... whats not to love! Course was topped off by have excellent classroom training and practical (on the water) training by Andrew. If you can get on any course with Andrew then both myself and especially my son would provide a massive endorsement. He's patient, relaxed, fun, knows a great lunch spot, and makes the course engaging. Overall a top bloke to look after the participants, I cannot recommend SBT and Andrew any more highly - now looking forward to Day Skipper!
12/06/2024
DIESEL
Southampton

Excellent trainer, good facilities, learnt a lot - which was why I went there. Very happy and would recommend it
10/06/2024
Marine Diesel Engine Course
Southampton

My course instructor was Sean, I found the course informative , interesting and I am sure it will be very useful. We were taught how an engine works, identification of parts and the role they play. Fault finding and many useful practical tips. A very useful and confidence building day, highly recommended.
10/06/2024
RYA Level 2 Powerboat Handling
The Solent

I had never driven a boat or car before but the instructor we had put me at ease immediately (Matt). We had 3 people doing the course which was in the classroom but mainly on the water. Our second day was 4.6 force so a challenge to say the least but all within the limits of safe boating. I came away with confidence of handling a powerboat and will gain further experience when I drive my partners powerboat. I cannot thank Matt enough for his instruction, guidance and encouragement. I would highly recommend RYA for complete novices (especially) or indeed someone of experience. We had one other person on our course her experience spanned over 25 years of boating and she mentioned she found the course very valuable. I cannot wait to do the VHF course next. Thanks all at RYA for my whole experiences over the two days.
03/06/2024
VHF SRC Radio
Bexley

I completed the online course and then SBT were great and arranged for me to do the assessment as I stepped off the boat from my Day Skipper Practical. The course (with the book to back it up) was very good - clear and informative. Sean who conducted the assessment also covered off some key points before we completed the assessment. SBT were great at arranging this and explaining what I needed to do. The one tricky thing was that the radios for the assessment worked differently to the virtual online radio so should have allowed myself more time to get familiar but again Sean was very helpful. Would recommend SBT - have done a number of courses with them and will do more!
03/06/2024
Day Skipper Practical
Bexley

I completed the Day Skipper Practical this week (over 5 week days). This is my 3rd practical course with SBT and the standard of the boat, tuition and location has been excellent each time - even the weather has been varied so as to give us a range of experience. The wet weather gear loaned by SBT was in great condition, as was the boat. Matt was an excellent tutor who was calm, clear and informative whilst building confidence in us to undertake even tricky manoeuvres - no yachts nor crew were harmed in the learning! The Solent is undoubtedly the best place to learn with a variety of destinations, plenty of navigational interest and good marinas to recharge at the end of the day. Solent Boat Training are in my view the best training outfit and offer outstanding value for money. Thank you! (Thanks to Sean as well who sorted out taking my radio exam at the end of my week to save me a trip from London! An example of how efficient and helpful SBT are!)
03/06/2024
RYA Level 2
Southampton

A thoroughly enjoyable, well taught, engaging training that left me and my partner feeling confident to take to the waters alone. We'll definitely return for further training. Thanks so much.
02/06/2024
Day skipper practical
From Shamrock Quay

Fabulous five day practical course with Matt - great instructor, very experienced and knowledgeable. Learned loads and hugely appreciated Matt’s calm and kind approach. Highly recommend.
31/05/2024
RYA First Aid at Sea
Southampton

An excellent day with instructor Sean. A long course syllabus to get through, but the mix of practical and theory coupled with Sean's enthusiasm and sense of humour made it really enjoyable. Great venue too, and for an early start, there's an excellent cafe for breakfast almost next door and parking right opposite, too. Great value for money - a better price offered here compared to some training centres I looked at.
31/05/2024
Powerboat level 2; Powerboat haandling
Solent Boat Training

The course was excellent, Matt, the instructor, was clear, kind and patient. The RIB, engine, clothing was all in great condition, really enjoyed it and learn a lot. Thank you so much. Timothy
30/05/2024
Day Skipper Theory
Southampton

The course was excellent, well run, with lots of opportunity to ask questions and go over topics again. The tutor was brilliant and delivered n an engaging way. I thoroughly recommend this course.
29/05/2024
Day Skipper shore based theory
UK

I found (Sean), the instructor on this course to be very friendly and knowledgable and was very willing to spend time explaining the concepts of each topic. The course was extremely intensive when you don’t have a partner to work with but the instructor always jumped in to ensure you were heading in the right direction with your reasoning and answers, and no question I raised was ever considered as being stupid or irrelivent, making you feel as part of a team and not just a student. I cannot wait for the practical portion of the course so I can apply what I learnt, albeit I know I will have to review each topic in the meantime as there was a lot to take in. Also the other students were quite friendly and helpful, which makes a big difference on a course of this length. I certainly will be booking more courses with Solent Boat Training, as I also find the venue and facilities to be equally as having the highest standards as their Trainers. Nigel Whittle
29/05/2024