Solent Boat Training Client Reviews

 

Please complete the form below to leave your review

 
 
Day Skipper theory
Southampton

This is my fourth course with SBT. On all my courses I have been mightly impressed with each trainers standard of knowledge and enthusiasm to pass this on. On all my courses people have travelled from all over the country to participate, all from various walks of life and varying experience, I have even sat next to a harbour master and members of the Royal Navy. So if SBT is good enough for them then they are good enough for everyone - including a novice like me!
09/04/2024
Day Skipper
Solent

Great Skipper, who shared his experience and taught calmly, clearly and with great patience. The boat was in good condition. The Solent is a fantastic place to learn and we experienced top-class overnight stays. I do think that the website undersells SBT, and the pre course communications could be better. Overall fantastic and will definitely look to use again.
09/04/2024
VHF
Shamrock Quay

Really great and well organised day on the VHF course - very friendly and helpful staff and good standard of equipment.
09/04/2024
Power boat level 2
Southampton

Great two days on the basics of power boat handling. Great set-up and instructors. Thoroughly enjoyable.
08/04/2024
Day Sailing
London

Been there for the day sail: really good experience, great boat (a Bavaria 51) and knowledgeable and friendly crew (Sean and Josh), recommended!
08/04/2024
Coastal Skippers 5 Day practical sailing course
Solent- Poole and wider waters

This course taught me a great deal and reinforced my confidence as a skipper. Many thanks to Leo our instructor who was fantastic throughout the 5 days. We sailed and executed manoeuvres in challenging conditions which allowed us all to build confidence in our ability to skipper in a variety of situations. With a 4 students Leo spent time with each of us discussing, demonstrating and then allowing us all to develop and demonstrate our skills. Really appreciated and highly recommend SBT.
08/04/2024
Competent Crew
Sandhurst

Great week on Gallifrey, weather was a bit wet and breezy but we learnt lots and laughed more. Big thanks to Skipper Mike who was a great teacher. Will definitely be back for more.
30/03/2024
Mile Builder
Surrey

We had a great weekend on the Mile Builder from Southampton to Lymington to build up our experience in advance of going on a flotilla holiday in Greece later this year. The yacht, Gemini, was very comfortable and the skipper knowledgeable about both sailing and local wildlife. Would do again.
27/03/2024
Intermediate Powerboat
Shamrock Quay

Sean ran a course that was pitched at just the right level and it was very informative and enjoyable. I think all three students got what the wanted from the training.
26/03/2024
Comp crew course
Southampton

Very good course As a complete beginner at sailing and 64 years old I was sceptical about whether this was for me! Loved every minute of the course great tuition and very professional. Seeing how 4 random people become a crew in five days is impressive I will be continuing my sailing journey with SBT Cheers guys
24/03/2024
Yacht Master (Theory) Feb/Mar 2024
Shamrock Quay

Debs was an excellent instructor, very patient with a mixed ability class and supremely knowledgeable. She was able to help plug individual knowledge gaps whilst keeping to the syllabus. I would definitely recommend Solent Boat Training and hope to return at some stage for a Mile Builder.
22/03/2024
Day Sipper Practical and theory
Solent

I can very much recommend Solent Boat Training. The courses are challenging but also enjoyable. The instructor to pupil ratio is just right, giving each pupil enough time to interact with the instructor and also learn from other pupils. The sailing yachts are well maintained and clean.
19/03/2024
Day skipper
Solent

Day Skipper/competent crew course 11-15 March. I had a great time on this course. Thanks to Mike our instructor and also the other guys on the course. Mike put me at my ease the whole time and made the whole experience a lot of fun as well. Really enjoyable and I learnt a lot too. Can't wait to get back on the water!
18/03/2024
Intermediate power
Shamrock quay

I really enjoyed the course very much. Sean the instructor was knowledgeable and humorous, serious about the important aspects of the course but funny too to keep our attention and make the course more fun. The RIB we used was excellent and the kit provided was great.
18/03/2024
Powerboat level 2
Shamrock quay

Russ was excellent giving us the grounding and support to get us confident on the water , great course would recommended 100%. Lovely couple of days absorbing knowledge as much as brain would allow.
16/03/2024
Power boat level 2
Winchester

Great couple of days with Rob as instructor. 2 others & myself training. Lots of wind & rain however great location to set out from sheltered safely from the most of the elements while still learning before heading further into the Solent. Would recommend Solent boat training to anyone looking to further their knowledge & skills.
14/03/2024
Powerboat level 2
Shamrock quay

Fantastic course, i really enjoyed it, Russ was a very good instructor and explained things in a very easy way, i learnt alott, i would highly recommend this course.
13/03/2024
 
Oxfordshire

13/03/2024
Powerboat Level 3 Intermediate
Filer

Had a great couple of days with Sean, taking myself and two others through our intermediate powerboat level three. The weather was against us, but we all had smiles on our faces for two days. Sean made the syllabus, very accessible and easy to understand. I'm looking forward to more courses in the future and we certainly looked to come back to learn more from Shaun and Solent boat training
12/03/2024
Competent Crew Course 6th to 10th March 2024
Shamrock Quay

Thanks Andy (our instructor / skipper for the trip) and S.B.T. for putting on this excellent course. From the start Andy created a Team ethic which led to a great camaraderie between the crew and an excellent learning environment . We all learnt loads through the coaching, demonstrating and patients to answer endless questions. Boat and equipment was all up together and we moored at night in marinas that offered excellent facilities and fun places to dine out which added to the enjoyment of the course. Left us feeling confident to push on to the next stage. Thanks
12/03/2024
Powerboat Level 2
Southampton

Great instructions, clearly given and a lovely instructor. It's great that it's only 3 people per course. We had windy conditions but I found the 2 days enjoyable and very informative. Will definitely come back for other courses
12/03/2024
RYA Competent Crew Sailing
Solent

Leo was a very experienced sailing instructor who explained each sailing task in detail and at a steady pace before demonstrating it to us. We were then given the opportunity to “have a go” ourselves and receive constructive feedback. The yacht we sailed and lived on for the week was modern and well maintained and easy to sail. If you wish to learn to sail then I thoroughly recommend SBT and the Solent waters.
12/03/2024
VHF SRC
Doncaster

Very good course and lots more practical training on the radio itself
12/03/2024
Competent Crew
Harrison

Excellent instructor, very calm and knowledgeable. Would certainly recommend Solent Boat Training.
12/03/2024
Day Skipper Practical
Southampton SBT

My Competent Crew and Day Skipper Course Pratical was superb. The instructor Leo is a fantastic person, doing such well explanations and leaving you very comfortable to sailing. The Solent Boat Training is highly recommended to everyone who wants to start that fascinating journey of sailing yatchs or motoring boats at the sea.
12/03/2024