Solent Boat Training Client Reviews

 
Add Review
First pagePrevious page23456789101112Next pageLast page

Excellent Centre with brilliant staff
I've done quite a few courses with SBT over the last few months in preparation for a future on the ocean and cannot recommend them enough. Friendly, helpful staff. Good, comfortable boats and nice coffee too. With the help of their instructors, I've progressed further towards my goals than I had hoped and had loads of fun along the way. I apologise as I know I'll forget to mention someone, but thank you Debs, Paul, Noel, Sean, Steph, Tom and the now absent Georgie. It's been a great experience!
01/10/2019 13:55:59
 
 
Excellent Power Boat 2 Course
An excellent two-day course with our instructor, Pete. His clear, methodical and engaging teaching style together with the low 3:1 student ratio ensured that we learned the theory quickly and got plenty of time behind the wheel to practise the techniques. With his great sense of humour and deep knowledge of local waters and history he managed to turn this course into what felt like a weekend of messing about in boats on the water.
30/09/2019 13:57:34
 
 
Power Boat 2 Training
From the initial enrollment through to the course completing, the whole experience was informative, professional with the right level of teaching appropriate for the mix of skills in our group.Chris our instructor is an incredibly knowledgeable person, great humour and an excellent tutor, a real credit to the company. I really appreciate having received the training, and certification, looking forward to the next steps. Finally anyone going on the water MUST undertake the training relevant for the type of watercraft.
29/09/2019 13:58:50
 
 
Competent Crew
I had a brilliant time on this comp crew course and learnt so much from our instructor Noel Hutchinson. His level of knowledge and style of instruction would put anyone at ease.
22/09/2019 14:14:43
 
 
Day Skipper Theory course
Excellent facilities, very good teachers and an organised structure to the courses makes it a great and enriching experience.
17/09/2019 14:17:13
 
 
Day Skipper Theory Course
Well paced learning, relaxed and patient tuition style, good class size and on board accommodation. Enjoyable and successful week. And keenly priced of course.
17/09/2019 14:15:57
 
 
Day Skipper Theory course
Tom was an excellent tutor. He had a mix of novices and experienced sailors, but always ensured that anyone struggling to grasp a new principle, was sympathetically dealt with. He was always prepared to give more time to any subject if needed.
15/09/2019 14:18:22
 
 
First class powerboat level 2 training course
After reading excellent reviews on Tripadvisor, this was my first experience of Solent Boat Training and I was not disappointed. The joining instructions were very helpful and Chris was an excellent instructor throughout the whole course, with very clear directions and guidance at all times, whether on the boat or in the classroom. It was a shame the (200hp) engine on the 7.5m XS RIB ‘Eagle’ broke down despite being regularly serviced (a freak fuel gasket failure) early on the first day, but Chris quickly rearranged the training schedule and a replacement 6m XS RIB ‘Kingfisher’ was brought out to us, so very little time was ultimately wasted on board. The free overnight accommodation on SBT’s 49’ yacht was extremely comfortable and the Shamrock Quay Marina toilet and shower block was spotless. Free car parking for the duration of the course right outside SBT was an added bonus. I was delighted to pass the course and receive my PB2 certificate from Chris, which I have now sent off to the RYA for my ICC. I will definitely be back for more courses - in fact I booked my free VHF radio course as soon as I got home!
14/09/2019 14:21:09
 
 
Fantastic Day Skippers 5-day course!
I recently attended SBT to complete my day skippers course. I booked the 5 day residential onboard course. As a professional instructor myself I was very impressed with our instructor/host Steph. From the outset she set a lovely welcoming tone for whole course. Her instruction was very clear, with an appropriate amount of leeway for us to learn through making mistakes without jumping all over us constantly. The boat, a Bavaria 38 was clean and well kept. Food for the course was supplied for breakfast and lunch and then pub meals in the evening which we purchased but overall was very nice. I can’t recommend Solent Boat Training enough. I thoroughly enjoyed the whole course which is in stark contrast with some friends who did the same course with a different provider in Chichester recently and were so disgusted with the training they received a full refund. I slightly regret completing my theory online and would have liked to have completed that with SBT as well in hindsight if I was a little more local. Highly recommended and don’t think that a competitive price for courses translates to lower standards because it most certainly doesn’t!
14/09/2019 14:19:38
 
 
Mr Dave Craddock
Completed my competent crew with Steph as an instructor, She was great and learned so much. I then went on to take my day skippers through the package deal, which was a good price. I’ve just finished my day skipper this week and passed. All the instructors Ive had were amazing and always happy to help if you are struggling. I would most definitely recommend SBT. I plan to come back to do my PB2. Thanks to SBT.
06/09/2019 14:22:54
 
 
Practical Day Skipper: great value for money
We hit the mark when we chose Solent Boat Charters and Training. There were three of us: two day skippers and one competent crew member. In my opinion, practice of mixing different categories is beneficial for everybody onboard. On our course we had two instructors: Mike and Steph. I really loved their styles of teaching and explaining some moments, that was super helpful. Be ready to do the same exercises lots of times :) Be ready to answer the questions from day skipper theory you'll be definitely asked. This sailing school is totally worth it, I strongly recommend it.
05/09/2019 14:24:06
 
 
Competent crew
Competent crew very enjoyable week of sailing on the Solent with a group of nice people. The yacht master who was-doing a training allowed us to enjoy the experience however was professional all times giving us a safe environment to practice skills. And evenings social life was very nice going out to dinner as a group having a couple of beers before returning to the boat for a quiet night sleep would recommend to anyone as this experience is well worth The money we paid.
04/09/2019 14:25:13
 
 
Lovely day sail in the Solent
The day was just as advertised - customers of varying experience all engaged in a great day out. Our skipper Leo was excellent. Lunch at anchor in Osborn bay was followed by the anchor winch packing up (could happen to anyone!) but Leo managed the situation admirably. I will be back!
02/09/2019 14:26:23
 
 
Excellent delivery
Completed my day skipper theory with SBT, Tom was the instructor and all I can say is excellent. He's a great educator and brings everyone along at the appropriate pace. This is an intense week and it makes it with how the instructor delivers the course. Thank you Tom you were excellent. Also did my comp crew with SBT a few weeks before. Same goes for Karstein, what people need to realise is it's an important job, being in charge of a boat on the solent. It's no mean feat! He taught me so much in the 5 days on the boat which I'm sure can't be replicated, he has great knowledge and also a great sense of humour! Well done guys and thank you. Andy
01/09/2019 14:28:05
 
 
Competent crew course was fab.
I signed up to my comp crew to get myself ready to do some sailing with friends. I’m a complete novice and being female was looking for a safe reliable friendly experience I didn’t want to feel like as I was the only female I was a burden. I had a super time. I was given plenty of opportunities to do whatever the rest of the crew were doing even though they were doing day skipper. The instruction Tom was fab. Patient really knowledgeable and great company also. The whole operation was really professional and very good. Food was great too.
30/08/2019 14:29:25
 
 
Competent Crew Course - August 2019
Excellent!!! Howard was my instructor - fabulous teacher. I have gone from being quite unsure on a boat, to feeling really confident. We had all manner of conditions (from force 2 to 7) across two weekends, but all took so much from the course. Really impressed that boats were not rammed full - we all had our own private areas for sleep, which made a massive difference. Instructor training ability and professionalism was superb (if you get the choice, go with Howard). Couldn't speak more highly of the experience.
29/08/2019 14:33:20
 
 
Day Shipper Practical & Comp. Crew
Just completed my Day Skipper Practical with Solent Boat Training. My wife also did her Comp. Crew on the same boat. Big thank you to our instructor Howard. His delivery of the course really helped us build our confidence and overall it was a challenging but enjoyable couple of weekends.
29/08/2019 14:32:08
 
 
Coastal Skipper Practical - Solent Boat Training
Did my Day Skipper with Solent Boat Training (SBT) last year and followed it this year with the Coastal practical. As before I was very pleased with the standard of instruction, sharing of tips and experience and letting each of the students the opportunity to lead and to learn from each other. With accommodation on the yacht and breakfast/Lunch provided and all marina / fuel charges for 5 days of sailing, SBT course fees represent extremely good value for money. Thanks to Debs , our instructor for her patience, guidance and energy across the 5 days to make the week a success. Highly recommended.
29/08/2019 14:30:34
 
 
Great week for teenage son
My 15 year old took the five day RSA competent crew course towards the end of his long summer vacation. It was a big deal for him as he went “solo” so took pot luck on companions. He loved it: non-stop sailing action for 8 hours a day, sleeping overnight on the boat at different coastal towns in the Solent, a great mixture of adventure and education, constructive tiredness and self-discipline. The best possible introduction to proper sailing.
28/08/2019 14:47:15
 
 
Easy, professional and enjoyable
I came down from London to do my powerboat 2 course, it was very easy to get down and great to have a free bed for the night, really helped out. The area was perfect to learn in, nice and calm to start and then further out to the River Itchen for the higher speed learning. Instructor (Tom) was also great. The ribs were in great nick with new engines and GPS systems. Marking down 1 star only as the website makes a bit of a big deal about being in the ocean/Solent, whereas realistically most is done in the Itchen and then at the mouth of the Itchen which is Southampton water, so you don't make it down to the Solent. If I hadn't expected to go to the solent/ocean it would have definitely been 5*'s from me - would highly recommend for someone needing to do their PB2.
28/08/2019 14:43:49
 
 


First pagePrevious page23456789101112Next pageLast page