Solent Boat Training Client Reviews

 
Add Review
First pagePrevious page23456789101112Next pageLast page

RYA Powerboat Level 2 course
Had a great couple of days down at SBT doing the RYA Powerboat Level 2 course. Great facilities, everyone was really friendly and the instructor Russ was excellent. They've obviously been doing this for a while because they've thought of everything, free parking, efficient booking in on arrival, free accomodation, free tea/coffee, top quality equipment which is well maintained and great trainers. Couldn't fault it - thanks guys!
28/08/2019 14:42:18
 
 
Excellent day out.
Really good way to try sailing, great instructor and boat. Highly recommend it. The skipper took time to show us all “the ropes” it was a great day out.
28/08/2019 14:40:43
 
 
Day Skipper Practical
This review covers several courses I have now completed with SBT culminating (so far!) in my Day Skipper Practical. I have found all my courses with five different instructors now excellent. The boats are always in good condition, food good and the instructors have been great fun. Naturally different instructors have different approaches but I can honestly say every one I have found to be knowledgeable and friendly offering the right balance between teaching whilst keeping us safe. I plan to continue my training and will not be looking anywhere else but SBT
28/08/2019 14:39:29
 
 
POWERBOAT LEVEL 2 .. International Certificate of Competency
What a great company. I did my Royal Yachting Association Powerboat level 2 course with them. Our instructor was very knowledgeable, approachable and professional and it was two day of pleasure in a really good learning environment. I would have done this course for the help of it although it was out of necessity. Who gets to learn loads about seamanship and pilot a fast RIB in the Solent for £225.00 a pop? ME, THAT'S WHO! What a great two days spent... made my summer! Going back in September to take the VHF radio course and exam. The one day course was free on completion of their practical courses (see their website for details). The exam has to be paid for to the RYA. Looking forward to the trip to Solent boat training again but sadly no water this time. Great job guys.
28/08/2019 14:38:18
 
 
Three day mile builder
This was an excellent experience builder expertly delivered by our instructor Sam. Having only done competent crew previously (also with SBT) I came away feeling I'd achieved a great deal having successfully helmed the yacht and commanded the crew through various tacks and gybes as well as learning a lot about points of sail and the effect of wind and tides on yacht performance. Will definitely be training with SBT again.
26/08/2019 14:49:51
 
 
All that I hoped for to get day skipper certified.
My review covers a number of trading sessions with SBT covering March to May this year. Having been out of sailing for a number of years and wanting to be able to bareboat charter on holiday I decided to get qualified. Having previously done my comp crew with another provider in 2018 I chose SBT to study the theory then do the practical Day Skipper course. I carried out the theory course in March over two sessions fri to sun and sat / sun the next weekend. Technically speaking you could do the theory on line......or not at all. My honest opinion is don’t scrimp. I have my own motor boat in Haslar and am an experienced navigator but definitely benefitted by the in effect 1-2-1 instructors classroom training. There were others on my theory course who clearly were less experienced and IMHO would not have got the knowledge needed without this close supervision. I then booked on the day skipper practical for the following weekend ( while the theory was still fresh). The weather in March was not great with high winds all week forecast from the Sunday. My boat of 2 comp crew and 2 day skip plus instructor went out on the Monday trying to get in as much sailing as poss including the night sailing requirement of the course, finally getting back to the Itchen around midnight. Next day came the news the rest of the course was scrubbed ( discretion being the better part of valour) and the company owner took the unusual step of allowing us to rebook for no extra cost.....as I say it was very bad weather......not the usual 1 or poss 2 day you may expect to be tied up that time of the year. So I returned in May, this time all was well with the meteo. so I did a full 5 days including the night section ( which finished at 1am). My instructor Mike from NZ was a top bloke. Nothing ruffles this guy. I think a lot of how the week on day skip goes comes down to how well or otherwise the instructor an trainees gel. A tiring week no doubt, but you get out what you put in. Now bareboat chartering in the Greek Ionian islands. Happy result.
25/08/2019 14:58:59
 
 
Day Skipper Practical - August 2019
The Day Skipper Practical Course is both demanding and exciting in equal measure. Our instructor, Howard, made early and correct interventions in terms of our individual abilities and aptitude for the syllabus and conditions we were experiencing. Howard quite rightly engineered tasks which took us to our capability limits. After the first day we conducted a review of expectations from the course which amended the agenda for the week. From my point of view I gained an immense amount, however, realising I need more practical experience, have decided to retake the Day Skipper practical course. The arrangements, boat, catering and logistics, were perfectly executed and I enjoyed my week immensely. A big thank you to Howard for his honesty and guidance without undermining my confidence. A parallel would be to a car driving course where often, second time passes are preferable! I would thoroughly recommend this course and SBT.
25/08/2019 14:53:23
 
 
Tough but amazing weeks sailing
Thanks to Howard for getting me through my day skipper sailing course. Much harder than I thought it would be but a great week and mission accomplished. My advice is do as much sailing as you can before the course and go over your navigation. I di the theory course over a year ago any can’t believe how much I had forgotten. Thanks SBT.
24/08/2019 15:02:12
 
 
Great training venue with excellent trainers
I have done numerous courses over the last couple of years with SBT and the trainers are always excellent. The benefit of staying onsite, on one of their boats for multi day courses means you can be totally immersed in the course content. I would recommend them for any powerboat, motorboat, sailing or shore-based courses you intend to do.
20/08/2019 15:07:41
 
 
Great weekend of Powerboat training
Good value 2 days Powerboat course to satisfy ICC. Brian (instructor) was very experienced, personable and good fun. Highly recommend.
19/08/2019 15:10:55
 
 
Amazing PSB2 course with Chris and Russ
We did the PSB2 course over a weekend in August. The course was brilliant. Chris and Russ were both really excellent instructors. They were very professional and knowledgeable but also made the course exciting. It was great to do something that was fun but where we also acquired a new skill. Massively recommend it to you all.
18/08/2019 15:12:56
 
 
Power Boat 2 - Great course, highly recommended
Successfully completed PB2 yesterday (tue). Had a great time and met all my expectations. Hats off to Chris (Instr) for knowing when to say something and when to let us get on with it. Having moved to Powerboating from offshore sailing this was a great intro and I learned loads. Good balance of classroom, slow speed handling and planing to learn how to use the RIB safely. Took advantage of SBT accommodation on a lovely Bavaria 47. Plenty of room as you'd expect and kept in very good shape.
14/08/2019 15:16:25
 
 
Lovely School- Brian is the best!
Just completed my ICC Powerboat level 2 this weekend. Had such a good time- our instructor Brian was amazing... so patient, fun and clear. He really makes you feel at ease and empowers you so that you can tackle any challenge. We sailed in stormy conditions but felt fully in control as Brian was on the ball. The course was a good mix of practical and theory. Thank you! Yasmin and David
11/08/2019 15:20:05
 
 
Fantastic family time on Hebe (34ft Bavaria bareboat charter)
We (my husband, myself and our two older teenagers) chartered Hebe with this company having found them online. We haven’t visited The Solent for many years and only one of us has the Day Skipper qualification that was required (this requirement has changed since we booked and we now do not qualify!). Hebe is a 34ft Bavaria and is a beautiful boat. It was clean and fully equipped on our arrival and the staff who dealt with us on handover were efficient and showed us everything we needed to know and how/who to contact if anything further was required. We set off in quite strong winds but easily got to grips with the boat which was a pleasure to sail and stay on. We had no problems during our 4 night charter and handed the boat back over with ease. We would love to do this again as we had a fantastic time on Hebe, best another one of us gets Day skipper for next year so we can! Can’t fault this service.
09/08/2019 15:24:21
 
 
Day Skipper practical
Just come back from 5 day day skipper practical with Solent Boat Training. Excellent experience, intensive but very enjoyable. Instructor Tom was very patient and had the right level of humour and interest to keep me and other three candidates involved from start to finish. Yacht was great and the Solent is the place to learn about tidal sailing. Thoroughly recommended and very good value. Was just wanting to do Day Skipper but now am thinking seriously about Coastal Skipper.
05/08/2019 15:25:25
 
 
Power Boat Zero to Hero
A brilliant course with a very professional and experienced instructor. Our small group learned so much in a really fun environment. I stayed overnight on one of their boats which was perfect. I thoroughly recommend Solent Boat Charters and Training
02/08/2019 15:27:31
 
 
Marina Skills Sailing Course 1st Aug 19
My wife and I attended this one day course so we could refresh our parking skills. We don't own a 30ft plus sailing yacht but we enjoy chartering them and this course hits the spot between the two charters (Spring & Autumn) we take each year. Our coach for the day was Paul - very knowledgeable and a good communicator. He took our nice group of five through boat handling, its mechanics and techniques. A great day and one which will be repeated.
02/08/2019 15:26:27
 
 
Fantastic couple of days on the South coast with the great team at SBC
I spent a great couple of days with Ben and the team in the Solent last week, earning my Powerboat level 2 qualification. From the point of booking all the way through to the last goodbye, everything was handled in an extremely friendly and professional manner. The land-based facilities were great and the water-based ones even more so. The learning was challenging but the way that it was communicated made success achievable and fun. Highly recommended and hope to be going back in future for more courses. Thank you!
01/08/2019 15:28:47
 
 
Excellent in everyway!
Just completed my PB level 2, which I have to say was very informative, fun, relaxed, focused and of course well structured. We couldn't have asked for a better instructor in Peter Day, who was not only a good guy but a truly great instructor, who made it fun and deliberate along with various 'did you knows' on boating and the surrounding areas! He truly is passionate about boating and that comes across in his delivery. Was like 2 days with a friend! Cant wait until level 3....and beyond!
01/08/2019 13:51:45
 
 
PB Level 2 with a great crew!!
My wife and I completed PB 2 in July. The course was well designed, informative and most of all, great fun. The team at SBT ensured we covered all of the requirements, and tied each sector together nicely to create a complete picture to cement the learning goals. There was plenty of time to hone the practical skills, and in a really supportive environment, so we were all well versed in the fundamentals of PB handling. Cant wait to build on my newly acquired skills.
01/08/2019 13:47:04
 
 


First pagePrevious page23456789101112Next pageLast page