Solent Boat Training Client Reviews

 
Add Review
First pagePrevious page23456789101112Next pageLast page

Two day power boat level 2 Training
Had a really great time with a very knowledgeable and positive instructor. Solent provides affordable accommodation, clothing for any weather and great instruction. The course is fully back by the RYA. I’ve recommended this to my friends and would do to anyone who want to learn to power boat or sail.
16/03/2020 09:04:19
 
 
Day skipper 5 day practical course - Excellent
An excellent five day course and our instructor Ben was particularly good - gave us students confidence as well as dropping in tips above and beyond the base remit of the course, I'd highly recommend the company in general and Ben in particular.
16/03/2020 08:20:00
 
 
RYA Coastal Skipper Sailing Course
I have just completed the above course which I passed. Much harder week than I thought but the skipper was great. I should have done work on my theory before I came on the course but worked on it each night during the course and good through. Great boat, great skipper and the Solent is great place to learn.
15/03/2020 09:31:34
 
 
Top team
I have done numerous courses in the last 4 years with Solent boat training - PB2-PB intermediate - Advanced PB - Day skipper theory - Day skipper Motor Practical - PWC - First Aid- VHF along with "Intro to night nav" and PB refreshers. I have had many instructors Paul, Sam and Sean all of these guys have delivered the courses in an extremely professional and informative way their knowledge is second to none. The rest of the team there make you feel welcome and cannot do enough for. The accommodation on the yacht is cheap, comfortable and sufficient for the stay. I cannot rate this centre highly enough along with their equipment and whole heartedly recommend them to anyone wishing to peruse boating either power or sail because they have many boats if technical issues arise they can be dealt with swiftly. Matt the owner is friendly, honest and accommodating. Prices are highly competitive in todays market. plus you get a free VHF course if you book a different course first. Top team
15/03/2020 09:27:27
 
 
First class first aid course
I attended Solent Boat Training to revalidate my first aid qualification, required every 3 years. The classroom was warm, airy and spacious. The teaching aids were numerous, clean and sanitised. My skills were updated, refreshed and put to the test with plenty of hands on practical evolutions. My instructor had a deep understanding of his subject which he imparted in a timely, eloquent and very personable manner. I recommend and endorse this training provider and will return.
15/03/2020 09:24:05
 
 
Fantastic!
Did L2 and Intermediate power boat course over 2 weekends with Debs, Bryan, Chris and Matt. Patient and knowledgeable instructors. Can't fault anything, good kit, practical and theory sessions equally good and we got out on the water very soon after starting. Difficulty of practical well suited to the individual with non judgemental, constructive feedback. Thoroughly recommend. My wife and friends will be be booking more courses with them, what better recommendation than that!
15/03/2020 09:20:46
 
 
Split weekends day skipper course - well worth it
Just completed the Day Skipper theory course. Strongly recommend the option to split it over two weekends (3 +2 days). The training led by Matt was well paced but having the week in between to digest and do additional questions was a great help in working out what we had understood and allowed a useful recap at the start of the second weekend. Also can’t recommend enough doing this as a classroom rather than online. Sharing and learning from each other’s mistakes was a huge help. The theory isn’t difficult but needs practice and help to understand all the very many silly mistakes we made. Looking forward to the practical!
15/03/2020 09:16:06
 
 
Shorebased Radar course
Covered the RYA syllabus and then extended it with additional up-to-date material. Excellent course, excellent instructors, and very reasonably priced. Date of experience: March 2020
13/03/2020 09:41:08
 
 
VHF Course & 2 day Mile Builder
The first was a VHF course, which was excellent. Good classroom facilities, good equipment, enough radios so that each student gets good hands on and a very knowledgeable instructor. The second was a 2 day mile builder. Whilst not technically a course I feel I learnt more on this then I did on my Coastal Skipper course with sun sail. The boat was a 38 Bavaria Match in good condition, the skipper was Dom who was extremely knowledgeable and passed on much wisdom, the wet weather gear we were given was top notch, we used quality moorings with excellent facilities, in all it was amazing value for money.I will return for the diesel marine course, I’ve checked around and other training providers are charging £140.00 for a a course that SBT are only charging £69.00 for. Summary SBT good facilities, good instructors, good tuition, good equipment and excellent value for money
12/03/2020 09:43:48
 
 
Day Skipper sailing package.
Completed 5 Day ‘Practical Day Sailing Skipper Course. I booked a fully complete Day Skipper sailing package . Having attended various courses over the last year . I have found the staff and facilities extremely friendly and a whole range sailing vessels well equipped . The whole package is extremely good value for money when you check out other companies. 10 out of 10 for me.
10/03/2020 09:58:25
 
 
Really Excellent Radar Course
A really excellent 2-day Radar course delivered by Debs and Tom. I am a Yachtmaster Instructor so I did this as a referesher course and they filled in some gaps plus extended my understanding, using lots of good practical examples, all delivered in a very clear style. I'd certainly recomend this course.
10/03/2020 09:49:33
 
 
Intermediate Powerboat Course
Excellent instruction, boat, equipment and accommodation. Really delighted with the two days. Many thanks.
09/03/2020 10:55:04
 
 
RYA Training as it should be !
Completed my RYA level 3 'Intermediate' course last week with Sam our very experienced instructor. Any points that you don't understand Sam was happy to explains it again. I was advised to complete this course prior to doing the RYA 'Advanced Power boat' course and this was excellent advise blessed with hind site. Lastly the rib/equipment used during the course was also excellent
09/03/2020 10:50:58
 
 
Day skipper theory
The prospect of 5 days in a classroom learning the day skipper theory didn't fill me with enthusiasm, but the course was so well run and taught in a casual though fully structured way that the time flew by and left me wanting to learn more. I would recommend them to anyone that wanted to do develop their theoretical or practical boating skills further. Accommodation on a boat during the course was an added bonus. Already booked for my day skipper practical and cant wait!
09/03/2020 10:43:09
 
 
Absolute Outstanding
Such an amazing training centre. I did my VHF and PB Intermediate with them and can't recommend them highly enough. Everyone is super friendly and has a smile on their face. A big Thank You to Dom who was my instructor in both courses. He went above and beyond and his teaching is absolute outstanding!
09/03/2020 10:36:01
 
 
Relaxed and Friendly environment
The course was laid out quite well and the instructor was informative and knowledgeable. Facilities onsite were good also.
09/03/2020 10:09:26
 
 
Advanced training
It's not easy to get a good review out of Mr Bubbles, however, annoyingly, Solent Boat Training and their team deserve an excellent review. Personally, I found the website a little clunky, but it works really well and on-line booking and confirmation was a sinch. With ALL the information sent over straight away. The training room was suitable, free coffee - Mr Bubbles couldn't get enough of that! The advanced instructor that was young enough to be my son, but he was great. Sooo knowledgeable, knew what he was talking about and pitched it just right, with boundless energy, patience (let's not deny it!) and enthusiasm. Thanks Dom, I'll give you three plus two points out of five. (Dom knows what I mean!) Have already booked next courses. Thanks Mat and team.
09/03/2020 10:04:41
 
 
2 Day Mile Builder
Just got home after a fantastic 2 day mile builder and I'm still buzzing, even after a 4 hour journey each way to get there. Recorder 60 nautical miles in 2 days. Loved it and the weather held out, but only just. Dom was great lead Skipper/Instructor and I have learned so much, in turn my confidence has grown massively. I will be back for more
08/03/2020 10:58:29
 
 
first course towards my Day Skipper certification
I have booked my level 2 and 3 powerboat and my day skipper theory and practical to be completed between now and June, this was the first of those courses. We were fairly lucky (and quite brave) to book a sailing course in February in the Solent but fortunately the conditions were pretty good. Our instructor Ben was knowledgeable and relaxed and the boat and equipment was very good quality. I already own a small powerboat but i was a complete novice having taken my boat out on a tidal river previously with no experience this course really got me up to speed with safety, tides, wind, currents, boat handling and the beginnings of basic navigation. there was three of us and the instructor on the boat which meant we all got a good session in handling the craft. the facilities on site are good with a decent cafe and very clean toilet facilities. Overall a great and informative experience, looking forward to the next level of which advice was given regarding literature and preparation (hopefully i will have the time to take advantage of this) as a bonus i didn't even get wet :-)
20/02/2020 11:02:44
 
 
Power Boat Level 2 course
Excellent communication following booking. Easy to find, great facility. Knowledgable instructor (Ben) , who, despie the terrible weather conditions, kept us enthused, gave good instruction, praise and advice. I would definately recommend this RYA training facility. These guys represent the RYA in a very professional manner whilst keeping the learning fun.Thanks guys.
17/02/2020 11:22:06
 
 


First pagePrevious page23456789101112Next pageLast page